Children’s Allowance Payment Dates 2020

Children’s Allowance or Child Benefit in Ireland is currently €140 per month for each child. (2020)

The annual amount of Child Benefit per child is €1680.

Child Benefit is paid out on the first Tuesday of every month.

Sometimes it is paid out early into some bank accounts in weeks where the Monday is a Bank Holiday. (Often paid on the Saturday or Friday before.) But this is not always guaranteed.

See a List of 2020 Bank Holidays in Ireland Here


Children’s Allowance Payment Dates 2020

  • Tuesday 7th January 2020
  • Tuesday 4th February 2020
  • Tuesday 3rd March 2020
  • Tuesday 7th April 2020
  • Tuesday 5th May 2020
  • Tuesday 2nd June 2020 (Bank Holiday on 1st)
  • Tuesday 7th July 2020
  • Tuesday 4th August 2020 (Bank Holiday on 3rd)
  • Tuesday 1st September 2020
  • Tuesday 6th October 2020
  • Tuesday 3rd November 2020
  • Tuesday 1st December 2020
  • Tuesday 5th January 2021
  • February 2nd 2021
  • March 2nd 2021

Budgeting Tips

It can be useful to see at a glance on what date the first Tuesday of the month falls . For some families, a 5 week wait between payments can make a big difference to their budgeting for that month. It’s always best to be prepared.

When the first Tuesday of a month falls on the 6th or 7th, as it does in October 2020, this results in a five-week gap between payments.

Maybe a good idea is to work out the weekly amount of child benefit and try to only spend that amount each week.

Tip – Don’t just divide the monthly amount by 4 .
The correct way to convert a monthly payment to a weekly amount is to multiply it by 12 and then divide by 52.

The exact WEEKLY amount of Children’s Allowance per child is :-

  • 1 child = €32.30
  • 2 children = €64.60 ;
  • 3 children = €96.90 ,
  • 4 children = €129.20

If you can manage to spend only this amount of the Children’s Allowance per child each week then you hopefully won’t suddenly be short when the payment date is the 6th or the 7th of the month.


Save Money on Electricity

See some Money Saving Tips here

Share This