Rent Increase Restrictions in Rent Pressure Zones

The government introduced the concept of Rent Pressure Zones at the end of 2016 –  (24th Dec) covering Dublin and Cork City. These zones were then expanded on January 27th 2017.  In September 2017 , Drogheda and Greystones were also designated as Rent Pressure Zones
See below for full list of areas covered.

Rent Increase restrictions in Rent Pressure Zones.

rent pressure zones


If your rented property is located in a Rent Pressure Zone – then the  rent cannot be increased by more than 4% a year. This restriction on rent increases will remain in place for a maximum period of three years  and will apply both when rents are set at the start of a tenancy and when rents are reviewed during an ongoing tenancy.

In general, your landlord has the right to review the rent once every 2 years.  (See more details about timespan between rent increases here)   But in Rent Pressure Zones , under the new Rent Predictability Measure, annual rent increases will be allowed in future ( capped at 4% per year.)
This is the full list of areas covered by the Rent Pressure Zones as at Jan 27th 2017


  • Dublin City Council
  • South Dublin County Council
  • Dun Laoghaire/Rathdown
  • Fingal co Council
Co Kildare
  •  Naas
  •  Sallins
  •  Celbridge
  •  Leixlip
  • Newbridge
  • Rathangan

Co Meath

  • Laytown
  • Julianstown
  • Duleek
  • Bettystown
  • Ashbourne
  • Ratoath
  • Dunboyne
  • Dunshaughlin

Co Wicklow

  •  Bray
  •  Enniskerry
  •  Wicklow

Co Galway

  • Galway City Central
  • Galway City East
  • Galway City West

County  Cork

  • Cork City
  • Ballincollig
  • Carrigaline
  • Douglas
  • Passage West

County Louth

  • Drogheda

County Wicklow

  • Greystones

Some examples of allowable rent increases in Rent Pressure Zones here